How to Wipe Your iPhone



Glyde makes it easy and hassle-free to sell your old iPhone so you have some extra cash to buy a new model.

Learn how to wipe your personal data from your iPhone so it’s ready to sell.

Please also remove your SIM card before you ship your device. Click here for instructions.

Turn Off Find My iPhone

Step 1

Turn off the Find My iPhone feature before shipping your iPhone. If this is not turned off, the buyer of your phone will not be able to activate it and the phone will be returned to you. If you can't access Settings on the phone itself, click here and follow the last set of instructions to remotely erase and remove "Find My iPhone".

Step 2

Find and tap on Settings from your home screen.

Step 3

Tap on iCloud.

Step 4

Slide Find My iPhone to the OFF position.

Step 5

Enter your password to confirm and tap Turn Off.

Option 1: Wipe Your Data From Your Phone

Step 1

Before you begin, make sure that you backup your data via iTunes - see Step 1 under Option 2 below - or through Settings > iCloud > Backup & Storage. Then, re-enter Settings to begin removing your data.

Step 2

Click on General.

Step 3

Scroll down to Reset and click.

Step 4

Select Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your password (if necessary) and a message will pop up stating, “This will delete all media and data, and reset all settings”.

Step 5

If you are ready to wipe, select Erase iPhone twice.

Step 6

To deactivate your phone, call your carrier from your new phone and ask them to disassociate the old phone from your account.


Major iPhone Carriers

Sprint: 1-800-SPRINT1

AT&T: 1-800-331-0500

Verizon: 1-800-VERIZON

T-Mobile: 1-800-T-MOBILE

Option 2: Wipe Your iPhone Using iTunes

Step 1

Connect to iTunes to backup your data, apps, music and videos.

Step 2

Connect your phone to your computer and wait for it to show up in the Devices section of the iTunes sidebar.

Step 3

Select the iPhone from the sidebar and then select the Summary tab. Under Version choose Restore. A box should pop up saying that this step will erase your phone and reset it to factory settings. Click Restore to wipe out all your information.

Now that you have cleared your personal data, your phone is ready to be shipped.

If you have not listed your phone for sale yet, check out Glyde to get started.

Have questions or feedback? We’d love to hear from you. Email us at glydecast@glyde.com.

The Glyde Team