Technology moves fast – in today’s world, it seems that every couple months, there’s a new gadget out there that is far superior to last year’s model. In fact, the average American upgrades their cell phone about once every two years in favor of a newer model. 

Some people will give their old phone to family members, friends, or recycle it, but the most common of all is selling it. So the question is: do you need to wipe your device before selling? Yes, you do. Factory resetting your iPhone is essential before you part ways with It. Keep in mind  it is very important to factory reset it to ensure your personal data is safe.

Why do I need to factory reset my iPhone?

Often, we don’t think much of safeguarding our personal data on our devices, because iPhones today have so many security and safety measures when it comes to your personal data. 

Despite this, it is important that your data remains with you and not in the hands of others – especially when you plan to sell your old device. Factory resetting your iPhone erases everything that is on the device, resets all settings to default, and gives the iPhone a clean slate like it was new in the box the day you got it. 

Today, we’re going to guide you through this process for all iPhone models from the iPhone 6 to include the new Phone 11. Although the models of iPhones change yearly, as does the iOS version, the factory reset process remains the same.

How to wipe and reset your iPhone before selling it

We’ll get straight to the point – here’s a step-by-step process to doing a factory reset on your iPhone before you sell.

The first step: make sure you have a secure backup of your data 

If you’re factory resetting your phone, odds are you’re looking to buy a new one. If you want to be able to keep all of your data, you’ll first need to create a secure backup before you perform a reset.

Your first option: If your current iPhone and new iPhone are using iOS 12.4 or later, you can use iPhone Migration to transfer data directly from your old device to your new one. This can be selected from the quick start menu on your new device. Of course, this only works if you’ve already purchased your new phone!

You can choose between the wireless method if they are on the same WiFI network, or the wired method by connecting the devices together manually.

Your second option: You can use iCloud backup to move your data from your old device into cloud storage, and you can later restore a new device from this backup. To do this, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Navigate to Apple ID. This is the block with your name at the top of the Settings page.
  3. Tap on iCloud.
  4. Scroll down to iCloud Backup, and select it.
  5. Tap the toggle switch on and press Back Up Now
iphone screenshots for icloud backup
A step-by-step process for performing an iCloud Backup on your iPhone.

Your third option: Backup your old device to iTunes and restore it onto your new device. To do this, connect your iPhone to your computer and go through the iTunes backup steps when prompted.

Once your data has been transferred to your new device, or is stored in iCloud, you’re now ready to begin the factory reset process to wipe your phone.

Begin the factory reset process 

  1. To factory reset your iPhone, you will need to disable Find My iPhone and remove the device from your iCloud account. 
  2. To disable find my iPhone, navigate to Settings -> iCloud -> Find My iPhone, and toggle it off. Once disabled, navigate back to your iCloud Settings page and click on Sign Out
The simple process to disable Find My iPhone. Once you’re done, navigate back to the iCloud page, scroll to the bottom, and tap Sign Out.

The final step: to perform a factory reset on your iPhone, open Settings, go to general, scroll down to reset, and click on Erase All Content and Settings. The iPhone will then erase all data on the device and reset itself to factory settings. Note: If Find My iPhone is still enabled, you will be prompted to enter your iCloud account information to disable it and remove the device from your account.

iphone screenshots for erasing iphone
The final step in the reset process – erasing all content and settings from your phone!

Your phone is now factory reset, and it’s ready to be sold and reused!

Is the factory reset process different depending on your iPhone model?

The factory reset process is not different between iPhone models, but rather the iOS version currently installed for your device. For example – if you have an iPhone 4, your iPhone can’t go above IOS version 7.1.2 – the main difference with older iOS versions is that the ‘Find My iPhone’ steps won’t apply. Otherwise, the process remains largely the same.

The bottom line: no matter what iPhone or iOS version you have, you can follow these easy steps to complete your factory reset. Apple makes it easy to do this process on all iPhone models!

You’re done! Your iPhone is now factory reset, and is ready to be sold. You can choose to sell privately online, or in a used electronics store, but the best hassle-free secure way is to sell your phone with Glyde.

Glyde makes it easy to trade in, sell or buy used device while saving up to 80% on premium used devices. Check out our selection of devices today, or trade in your phone here.

iphone xr with yellow button to buy now

Write a Comment