Sometimes called a hard reset or master reset, factory resetting your phone involves wiping personal information, data, and settings so that the device is restored to the state it was in when it first left the factory. There are different ways to perform a factory reset depending on the phone you have. Keep reading to find out why you may need to factory reset your phone and how to do so for your Samsung Galaxy phone specifically!

Why do I need to factory reset my phone?

Commonly, a factory reset is performed before a used phone is traded in or sold to a new user. This is an extremely important step if you’re interested in selling your phone!

The factory reset function is the easiest way to not only protect your own information but prep the phone so that it’s ready to use for a new owner. After transferring important data like contacts and photos to a computer or external hard drive, you should factory reset the device before you trade it in or sell it on online marketplaces like Glyde

Another reason to perform a factory reset on your Galaxy phone could be if it is experiencing persistent software issues. Ideally, the reset would wipe the phone of anything that may be affecting its performance. A factory reset can also be used to clear up device storage or in the case of loss or theft in order to protect the personal information stored on the device.

How to perform a factory reset on your Samsung Galaxy phone

Remember that a factory reset is a permanent deletion of the information on your phone. This includes all personal data, photos, messages, contacts, customized settings, and downloaded apps. Before you factory reset your Samsung Galaxy phone, be sure back up any data that you would like to keep!

Removing Google’s Factory Reset Protection (FRP)

Many Android phones, including Samsung Galaxy devices, utilize Google’s Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature. With FRP, a phone that’s been reset will still require the owner’s Google password before allowing access. This feature prevents unwanted people from gaining access to a stolen or lost phone by factory resetting it.

If you want to disable FRP, you’ll have to remove your Google account from your Samsung Galaxy phone before resetting.

  1. Access your apps and go to Settings, which looks like a small cog or gear.
  2. Select Accounts and backup.
  3. Tap Accounts.
  4. Select your Google account. If it’s already shown, select More options (three dots).
  5. Tap Remove account and then confirm by tapping Remove account again.
  6. Follow the instructions shown on the screen to complete the process of removing your Google account.

Using the Settings menu to factory reset

If you plan to trade or sell your phone to a new user, be sure to remove your Google account before factory resetting your phone. Once that is done, you can use the settings menu to perform the reset.

Devices running an updated version of Android can be factory reset by following the below steps:

  1. Access your apps and tap on Settings, which looks like a small cog or gear. 
  2. Go to General management.
  3. Tap the Reset option.
  4. Select Factory data reset.
  5. Scroll down past your apps and tap on the Reset button.

For devices running an older version of Android, follow the steps below:

  1. Access your apps and tap on Settings, which looks like a small cog or gear. 
  2. Go to Backup and reset. If that option doesn’t work or exist, go to Privacy.
  3. Select Factory data reset.
  4. Scroll down past your apps and tap on the Reset button.

Using Find My Mobile to factory reset

You can also use the Find My Mobile feature to reset your phone remotely. Don’t forget to remove your Google account first if you intend to pass along your phone to a new owner!

  1. Go to the Find My Mobile website and sign in to your Samsung account.
  2. From the list of devices on the left side of the screen, select the Galaxy phone that you want to factory reset.
  3. From the options under the device, click Erase data.
  4. A pop-up may appear and ask you to enter the verification code that was sent to your Samsung phone. Enter the code and press Verify. Then, click Erase data to continue
    1. If you didn’t get a code, you can go through the verification process by clicking Verify with text message or Verify with backup code
    2. You can also use a different Galaxy device to verify your identity, by selecting Verify with text message and then Verify with another Galaxy device.
  5. On the confirmation window, click the Erase button to confirm that you’d like to continue factory resetting your phone.
  6. You will be prompted to enter your Samsung Account password. Type in your password and then click Next.
  7. A pop-up will confirm that your phone data is erased! 

Using the buttons to factory reset a Samsung Galaxy

The third method to factory reset your Samsung Galaxy phone is to simply use the buttons. Again, be sure to disable Google’s FRP feature by removing your Google account if the phone is going to a new user.

  1. Turn off your Samsung Galaxy phone.
  2. Use the buttons on your device to launch the Android Recovery menu. The button combination you will need to press and hold depends on the type of phone you have.
If your phone has a physical home buttonIf your phone has a separate Power button, but no physical home button…If your phone has no Home or Power button
Includes: Galaxy S6 or S7Includes: Galaxy S8, S9, S10/S10+Includes: Galaxy Note10, Fold, X, Z Flip
Press and hold the Volume Up, Home, and Power buttons simultaneously. When the device vibrates, release the Power button. When the Recovery menu appears, release the other buttons.Press and hold the Volume Up, Bixby, and Power buttons simultaneously. When the device vibrates and the Samsung logo appears on the screen, release the buttons.Press and hold the Volume Up and Side buttons simultaneously. When the device vibrates and the Samsung logo appears on the screen, release the buttons.
  1. In the recovery menu, you will need to use the Volume Up and Volume Down buttons to highlight an option and the Power button to select. 
  2. Select Delete all user data or Wipe data/factory reset.
  3. Confirm your selection. Depending on your device, the option to select will be either Yes, Yes – delete all user data, or Factory data reset.
  4. Your phone will take some time to factory reset. When the reset is complete, you should see Data wipe complete at the bottom screen. 
  5. Reboot your phone by using the Power button to select Reboot device.

Performing a factory reset on your Samsung Galaxy phone is an essential step before selling or trading in your phone. Once your phone is reset following the steps above, it’s ready for its new owner!

With Glyde, you can sell your phone for cash or trade-in value towards any Glyde purchase. Sell your used phone here and then check out our selection of pre-owned devices.

1

Write a Comment