How to Back Up and Wipe Your MacBook



Get your MacBook ready for its next owner with these back up and wipe instructions. If you haven't done so already, visit Glyde to list and sell your MacBook. If you've already backed up your data, jump to the wipe instructions here.

Option 1: Transfer Your Data Using Time Machine - If you have an external hard drive or AirPort Time Capsule, run a full Time Machine backup on all the drives within your old MacBook. You're now ready to transfer that data to your new Mac.

Step 1

Make sure your external hard drive is connected to your new Mac or to the network on your AirPort Time Capsule if you've been backing up wirelessly.

Step 2

Open Migration Assistant from Applications/Utilities on your new Mac.

Step 3

Type in your Admin Password and click OK.

Step 4

Select the Time Machine Backup option.

Step 5

Click Continue and select the volume with your backup.

Step 6

Choose which information you want to transfer.

Step 7

Click Transfer and your backed-up information will begin copying over to your new Mac.

Transfer Data Directly from Your Old Mac to Your New One - As long as the two computers (old and new) are connected to the same wireless network or connected to each other through an Ethernet cable or FireWire, you can use the Migration Assistant. Make sure both computers are plugged in. Disable sleep mode through System Preferences from the Apple menu. Choose Energy Saver and select Custom in Optimization. Move the slider to Never.

Step 1

Open Migration Assistant from Applications/Utilities on your new Mac.

Step 2

Type in your Admin Password and click OK.

Step 3

Select the From Another Mac option.

Step 4

If you're using a Fire Wire, click Use Fire Wire. For a wired or wireless network, click Use Network. If necessary close all other applications.

Step 5

Choose which information you want to migrate.

Step 6

Click Continue and your backed-up information will begin copying over to your new Mac.

Deauthorize Your iTunes Account - Before you wipe your old MacBook, deauthorize your iTunes account.

Step 1

Launch iTunes and sign in. Click on the Store tab in the toolbar.

Step 2

Select Deauthorize This Computer from the drop-down menu.

Step 3

Enter your iTunes login information to confirm.

Wipe Your MacBook - Erase your data from your old MacBook so that it's ready to be shipped. Be sure your data transferred successfully to your new computer or to your external drive before you begin this step. The process is a little different depending on your operating system.

If you have the Snow Leopard (2009) operating system or older...

Step 1

Find the Mac OS X install disk that originally came with your MacBook. Insert it into the optical drive. For MacBook Airs, put the Software Reinstall Drive into the USB port.

Step 2

Restart your computer. Wait for the start-up chime and hold down “C”.

Step 3

Select a language and click the right arrow key. The reinstall window may appear, but ignore it.

Step 4

Enter the Utilities menu from the top bar and choose Disk Utility.

Step 5

Select the hard drive and click the Erase tab.

Step 6

Click Security Options. We recommend using the 7 Pass Secure Erase selection.

Step 7

Choose Erase and confirm. The secure erase process may take some time.

Step 8

When complete, choose Quit Disk Utility from the Disk Utility menu.

If you have the Lion or Mountain Lion operating system...

Step 1

Restart your MacBook. When the gray screen appears just after it restarts, hold down the Command and “R” keys at the same time.

Step 2

If not already connected to the Internet, do so through the Wi-Fi menu in the top-right corner.

Step 3

Select Disk Utility and click Continue.

Step 4

Choose your start-up disk from the list and click the Erase tab.

Step 5

From the Format menu, select Mac OS Extended Journaled. Enter a name for your disk, and click Erase.

Step 6

When the disk is completely erased, choose Quit Disk Utility from the Disk Utility menu.

Restore Your MacBook (Optional)

Restore

Once your computer is done deleting your data, if you'd like, reinstall a fresh version of the operating system for the next owner. When complete and you get to the welcome screen, do not continue. Hold down Command and “Q” to quit this. Eject the install DVD (if you used one) by holding down the Eject button on the keyboard. Then, shut down the computer. It’s now ready for its next owner.

It's Ready to Ship

Pack & Ship

Clean any smudges or marks on your MacBook and carefully pack it in your provided Glyde shipping kit. Place your power adapter in the included bubble mailer and place this on top of the MacBook. Please do not include any extra accessories as the shipping label has been calculated to a specific weight. All shipments are fully insured and tracked. Your proceeds will deposit into your Glyde account 3 days after delivery to your buyer.

Thanks for reading. For quick answers to any questions about selling on Glyde, please visit our FAQ page.

Have questions or feedback? We’d love to hear from you. Email us at [email protected]

The Glyde Team